Bayern Munich, Harry Kane, and the longest title reigns in history - including Celtic, Man City & Arsenal

Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now
The German giants could be about to bring to an end an 11-year grip on the Bundesliga title.

Things are not going quite as Harry Kane might have hoped they would. The former Tottenham striker left north London last summer to join Bayern Munich on the promise of untold riches and guaranteed silverware. At the time of writing, however, the Bavarian giants are facing the very real prospect of the unthinkable: an entire campaign without a trophy.

After crashing out of the German Cup at the hands of third division outfit Saarbrucken, Thomas Tuchel's men fell to a 1-0 first leg defeat against Lazio in the Champions League on Wednesday evening, leaving their continental hopes hanging by a thread too. But it is perhaps in the Bundesliga where they face the most intriguing threat to their supremacy. Bayer Leverkusen, brilliantly managed by Xabi Alonso, currently lead Bayern by five points at the summit of the table, and, based on their unbeaten run so far this term, could be on course to cause something of an upset.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

If Bayern were to miss out on the title this season, it would bring to an end a run of 11 consecutive successes in the league, stretching all the way back to 2012. But how does that record compare to some of Europe's other longest title-winning streaks? We've taken a closer look below...

English Record

Just to contextualise some of the records you're about to read, the longest run of consecutively won English league titles stands at a relatively meagre three, and is shared by Huddersfield Town, Arsenal, Liverpool, Manchester United (who are the only club to have repeated the feat), and Manchester City. If, however, City can finish top of the Premier League this season, they will set a new record for a fourth league success in a row.

14. Celtic and Rangers - Scotland - 9 titles

We start with our neighbours north of the border, and more specifically, the Old Firm. Celtic and Rangers' Glaswegian duopoly have dominated Scottish football for years upon years at this point, and both have won the top flight title nine times on the spin. The Bhoys have, however, done it twice, first between 1966 to 1974, and then again from 2012 to 2020.

13. Dynamo Kiev - Ukraine - 9 titles

Arguably the most famous club side in Ukrainian history, Dynamo Kiev went on an imperious run following the dissolution of the Soviet Union, winning back-to-back titles from 1993 all the way through to 2001. They were even named the greatest Eastern European club side of the 20th century by renowned French outlet AFP.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

12. CSKA Sofia - Bulgaria - 9 titles

Shockingly, not the longest run of consecutive Bulgarian titles on this list, but we'll get to that later. Between 1954 and 1962, CSKA Sofia were quite simply untouchable.

11. Sheriff Tiraspol - Moldova - 10 titles

Since its inception in 1992, the Moldovan top flight has been dominated by Sheriff, who have won the competition 21 times already, including a 10-season streak between 2001 and 2010. Incredibly, they could smash their own record very soon, and are well on their way to a ninth consecutive title this term.

10. FC Pyunik - Armenia - 10 titles

Not too dissimilar to Sheriff's dominance of Moldova, Pyunik are far and away the most successful side in recent Armenian history. They have won just the one title since 2015, however.

9. MTK Budapest - Hungary - 10 titles

MTK Budapest won the first of their 10 consecutive league titles in 1914, but the outbreak of the first World War meant that they had to wait until 1917 to win a second. The club were superb in the years after, however, reigning as champions until 1925.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

8. Dinamo Tbilisi - Georgia - 10 titles

In Georgian football, the '90s belonged to Dinamo Tbilisi. Continuing the fine form they showed during the Soviet Era, the club would win an entire decade's worth of titles between 1990 and 1999.

7. Dinamo Zagreb - Croatia - 11 titles

Since 1991, Dinamo Zagreb have won the Croatian top flight a staggering 24 times. That in itself is a remarkable stat, but perhaps even more incredible still is that were it not for Rijeka pipping them to the post in 2017, they would still be on a run of consecutive title wins stretching all the way back to 2006.

6. Bayern Munich - Germany - 11 titles

To dominate a top flight is one thing, but to dominate one of the traditional 'big five' divisions in Europe is quite another. Bayern have been imperious in recent years, but the threat posed by Xabi Alonso's sublime Bayer Leverkusen outfit might just be the trickiest challenge to their crown that they have faced yet.

5. Ludogorets Razgad - Bulgaria - 12 titles

In 2012, Ludogorets won their first Bulgarian league title. It is an accolade they have held ever since. A dozen back-to-back successes make them one of, if not the, most impressive domestic forces in Europe at the time of writing, even if they fail to make much of an impact outside of their home country. They are currently second in the league, though, so perhaps there is some hope for the rest of Bulgaria.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

4. Rosenborg BK - Norway - 13 titles

The 'second golden era' - as it is known - in Rosenborg's history actually began in 1985, and ended with 25 pieces of silverware, but by far its crowning glory was the 13 successive league titles won between 1992 and 2004.

3. BATE Borisov - Belarus - 13 titles

In 2017, BATE Borisov's Vitali Rodionov became the first player in history to win a top flight league title for 12 consecutive seasons. If he'd had the presence of mind to postpone his retirement by a year or so, he would have become the first to win 13 too.

2. Skonto Riga - Latvia - 14 titles

Skonto's story is an absolute whirlwind. Founded in 1991, they also won their first league title that year, and would go on to repeat the feat a further 13 times uninterrupted. By 2016, however, they had gone bankrupt, and the most successful side in Latvian is no more. Their 15th and final title came in 2010.

1. Lincoln Red Imps - Gibraltar - 14 titles

And finally, matching Skonto's record is Lincoln Red Imps, who also have the distinction of being the only semi-professional side on this list. The Gibraltar outfit have won their national title 23 times, including 14 on the bounce between 2003 and 2016. They also became the first Gibraltarian team to compete in the Champions League in 2014.

Comment Guidelines

National World encourages reader discussion on our stories. User feedback, insights and back-and-forth exchanges add a rich layer of context to reporting. Please review our Community Guidelines before commenting.